Driver's License

Driver’s Licenses can be renewed, replaced, updated and applied for for the first time at all five Anoka County License Centers.  The License Centers are not exam facilities. This means we are unable to offer knowledge or road tests as well as reinstate suspended or revoked Driver’s Licenses. If you are doing a name change, you must change your name on your social security card first before doing anything with your license or identification card. Click here for more information.

Here is a list of Driver’s License services offered by the Anoka County License Centers. Please follow the links for more information on a particular topic.

Minnesota has three identification options from which residents may choose: 

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security extended the REAL ID full enforcement deadline to May 7, 2025

REAL ID-Compliant Driver’s License or ID Card

Enhanced Driver’s License or Enhanced ID Card

Standard Driver’s License or ID Card

Determining which type of license or ID card works best depends on what a person needs to use the card for. Visit the DVS License/ID Options page or use their new Help Me Choose tool to find the card that best fits your needs.

Enhanced Driver’s License (EDL) and REAL DL

Anoka County is now accepting Enhanced Driver’s License and REAL DL applications. The EDL allows Minnesota residents to re-enter the U.S. at its land or seaports when returning from Canada, Mexico, Bermuda or the Caribbean, in addition to normal driving privileges. These types of cards are an additional $15. The Real DL and EDL can be used for domestic air travel and to access federal facilities. For more information or to learn how to obtain an EDL/REAL DL, please visit the Driver and Vehicle Services page.

Be sure to follow the requirements for necessary documents closely. View the news report  ’What Are The Biggest Mistakes People Are Making With REAL ID Applications’ from WCCO for more information.